Our Miami car accident attorneys focus on helping those who have been catastrophically injured in motor vehicle crashes (involving cars, motorcycles, scooters, trucks, and buses) throughout the State of Florida; we do not accept cases when there is little or no injury or when there is only property damage. We also provide legal representation to pedestrians and cyclists injured by careless drivers. We assist our clients in receiving the best possible medical attention, occupational therapy, and vocational therapy. Our Florida teen car accident injury lawyers help you and your first-time driver cope with the distress of a severe injury, ensuring that they receive the proper medical care and recover as fully as possible. Remember, the few minutes after a car crash can literally make the difference between winning or losing your case, even when the accident is not their fault. We fight hard to obtain optimal compensation for medical expenses and lost income.
In 2015, 22,441 people died in car accidents and more than half of those were teens (ages 13-19) and adults aged 20-44, who were unrestrained at the time of the crash. In Florida, however, our statistics are slightly above the national average in every category; for example, in the United States 86% of drivers and front-seat passengers who were involved in accidents were wearing seatbelts compared to 87% of Florida car accident victims.According to statistics, millions of people fail to buckle up every year, particularly teens and young adults.
Florida has very specific laws that require all front-seat passengers to wear seat belts when driving any car built since 1968. In addition, all passengers under 18 years of age must wear a seatbelt or be restrained in a child car seat. Moreover, in Florida it is against the law to operate a vehicle if passengers are not properly buckled up.
What happens if your teen was injured in a car accident but was not wearing their seatbelt? You still have the right to make a claim for your teen’s personal injuries, medical expenses, lost time from work, and other damages. However, it can and most likely will be argued that you would not have suffered any injury or at least not as severe an injury had you been wearing your seatbelt. This defense is known in Florida as the Seatbelt Defense.
Sadly, our Miami car accident law firm has represented families of teens killed in car accidents. Surprisingly, car crashes are the leading cause of death for Florida’s teens. Statistics show that teenaged drivers face the greatest risk of injury or death in their first year of driving. In fact, one out of every five licensed 16-year-old drivers in Florida will be involved in a serious traffic accident.
Our Miami car accident lawyers recommend that parents of teenaged drivers understand that Florida law requires a teen to spent a minimum of 50 hours behind the wheel of a car when the apply for a driver’s license. That means that either the parent or another responsible licensed adult must sit in the front passenger seat closest to the driver.
Florida law permits teens 15 years of age to apply for a Learner’s License. The are required to pass and complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Course, written test, vision test, hearing test and obtain a signed Parental Consent Form.
16-year-olds are only permitted to drive between 6:00 AM and 11:00 PM. They may drive at any other time but must be accompanied by a licensed driver of greater than 21 years of age in the front passenger seat or be traveling to or from work.
17-year-olds are permitted to drive between 5:00 AM and 1:00 AM but must be accompanied by a licensed driver of greater than 21 years of age passenger seat at all times. Once your teen turns 18-year-old, they may obtain a fully privileged driver’s license in Florida.
Since 1991, our Miami personal injury law firm has fought to protect the legal rights of Florida’s injured. Let our years of experience help protect your the legal rights of your loved ones and hold the auto insurance companies and others responsible for their negligence. Call us today and speak with a Florida teen auto accident injury lawyer who knows and understands how to maximize your teen’s claim and obtain the compensation they deserve for their injuries. We provide free initial and confidential legal consultations 24/7, by telephone toll-free at 1-866-597-4529, locally at 305-441-0440, and by email at [email protected] or SKYPE.