Our Florida laser hair injury lawyers are concerned about the growing number of both men and women who are burned during laser hair removal procedures.
People under estimate the risks of the procedure and are looking for deals on the Internet and in shopping malls.
Florida’s Department of Health’s guidelines are very specific as to who can perform laser and light-based hair removal. Technicians have to complete a 30-hour approved course and be certified by the Society of Clinical and Medical Hair Removal. Techs can only use devices for which they have received training and are under the direct supervision of a doctor who is also trained and licensed in hair removal pursuant to Florida Statute §458. In addition, the supervising physician and the electrologist must provide written protocols to the State before opening for business which include maintaining at least $100,000 in liability coverage. For the complete rules click HERE.
As a Florida laser injury lawyer I advise that if you have been burned or injured by laser hair removal seek immediate medical attention by a competent wound care specialist or go to your nearest emergency room.