Florida lawmakers are currently working to pass legislation that would repeal Florida’s no-fault law and change auto insurance requirements by the year 2022. The Florida House voted 99-11 to repeal Florida’s no-fault law and require every motorist to carry bodily injury coverage.
According to Senate Bill 54, Florida drivers will be required to carry combined single-limit liability coverage that consists of at least $60,000 in property damage and bodily injury insurance.
Here is a breakdown of what that looks like:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to, or the death of, one person in any one car accident.
- $50,000 for bodily injury to, or death of, two or more persons in any one car crash.
- $10,000 for damage to, or destruction of property of others in any one crash.
The passage of the bill will repeal the state’s no-fault personal injury protection (PIP) system and instead require mandatory bodily injury coverage starting at $25,000 for all drivers in the state of Florida. Earlier versions of the legislation required insurers to offer medical payments coverage (MedPay) in the amount of $5,000 or $10,000, but the passed version makes the offering optional and includes an optional $5,000 MedPay death benefit.
The bill will also create a new structure to govern motor vehicle claims handling and third-party bad faith failure to settle actions against motor vehicle insurance carriers. In Florida, Insurance Bad Faith typically occurs–and often results in a lawsuit–when an insurance company does not pay a claim when it is supposed to.
When it comes to insurance claims, certain types of car accidents are more prone to increase insurance rates than others, and it is important to know what insurance companies look for when making this determination.
Florida is one of only two states in the country that does not require drivers carry liability coverage. This coverage kicks in when a driver causes harm to another person while behind the wheel. Florida has kept with the same outdated insurance laws since 1972.
The goal of the new legislation is to lower the number of uninsured and under-insured drivers on the road. Uninsured drivers increase the cost of insurance for those who comply with their state’s insurance requirements. In Florida, driving without insurance is more widespread than in any other state. According to the latest statistics from the Insurance Information Institute (Feb. 3, 2021), Florida tops the list with 27% of its drivers being uninsured motorists.
For everyone’s protection, Florida drivers must be insured at sufficient levels. More importantly, replacing the current ‘no-fault’ system will place liability with the party that causes the accident. If the bill is signed by Gov. Ron DeSantis, Floridians will have roughly eight months to get their auto insurance policy in compliance.
If you have questions on this topic or have been injured in a motor vehicle accident in Florida, it is very important to consult with an experienced Miami auto accident attorney immediately. Florida auto accident victims have only 14 days to seek initial medical attention to receive insurance benefits after an accident, so it is important you are seen by a doctor as soon as possible following the accident. Spencer Aronfeld is a Board Certified Trial Lawyer, and he and the lawyers at Aronfeld Trial Lawyers understand Florida’s complex personal injury laws and since 1991 we have fought hard to protect the legal rights of the injured and their families- and hold auto insurers like State Farm, Allstate, Progressive, GEICO and others accountable for the pain and suffering, medical expenses, lost wages, and other damages suffered by our clients. Contact us today and speak with an experienced Miami auto accident attorney toll free 1-866-597-4529, local 305-441-0440, or by email. We offer a free initial consultation at your home, office, hotel, or hospital. Call us today, we are ready to help.